The Spring Writers’ Conference will bring together a talented group of authors and professors to lead and inspire those engaged in the craft of writing. Conference includes general sessions, writing exercises, craft classes and evening receptions. Presenters and participants will read excerpts from their published works followed by group discussion, literary dialogue, and book signings.

WHEN:  Wednesday, May 11 at 9:00am – May 14 at 12:00pm (Printable Complete Schedule)

WHERE: Rosemary Beach Town Hall

Featured authors:

  • JOHN DUFRESNE is the author of several novels [Louisiana Power & Light, Love Warps the Mind a Little, Deep in the Shade of Paradise, and Requiem Mass]. He has also written two collections of stories [The Way That Water Enters Stone and Johnny Too Bad] and two guides to writing fiction [The Lie That Tells a Truth and Is Life Like This?] He teaches creative writing at Florida International University in Miami.
  • LYNNE BARRETT is the author of three story collections [The Land of Go]. She has received the Edgar Award for best mystery story from the Mystery Writers of America and fellowships from the Florida Division of Cultural Affairs and the National Endowment for the Arts. She teaches at Florida International University and edits The Florida Book Review.
  • CINDY CHINELLY is a poet and short story writer, the author of the chapbook The Coralroot (Livingston University Press). She teaches creative writing at Florida International University and is co-editor of the anthology, Having a Wonderful Time: An Anthology of South Florida Writers.
  • FRANK GIAMPIETRO’s first book of poems Begin Anywhere was published by Alice James Books in 2008. He is the editor and designer of the online poetry journal, La Fovea and Poems by Heart He received his PhD in English from Florida State University in August, 2010 and is the 2010-2012 resident scholar at The Southern Review.
  • WILLIAM COBB is the author of seven novels, the latest of which is The Last Queen of the Gypsies (Newsouth). His 1991 novel A Walk Through Fire (Morrow) was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize, and his short story collection Somewhere In All This Green (Black Belt Press) was awarded the Alabama Library Association Fiction Book of the Year in 2000. He was the Harper Lee Award winner in 2007.
  • LAURA LEE SMITH’s short fiction was selected by guest editor Amy Hempel for inclusion in New Stories from the South: The Year’s Best, 2010. Her work has also appeared in The Florida Review, Natural Bridge, Bayou and other journals, and it received the Snake Nation Press prize for short fiction. She teaches creative writing at Flagler College and works as an advertising copywriter.

Make your reservation for four days of creative writing, readings and the fellowship of writers.

For detailed conference schedule, visit:

RSVP on Facebook: